Yuma County, Arizona Divorce Records
Unfortunately, sometimes marriages don’t last. Yuma County had 724 divorces in 2009 (as seen on this table here: http://www.azdhs.gov/plan/report/avs/avs09/pdf/t10.pdf
), which ranked about average when it comes to comparing Yuma County with other Arizona counties. The peak month for divorces last year was April, with a total of 74.
Regardless of which set of forms you end up using, you must return the completed forms to the Clerk of the Supreme Court at 250 West 2nd Street, Suite B, in Yuma, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. For more information on filing procedures, you can call the Clerk’s office (928) 817-4234 or Margi Castaneda, the Law Library Coordinator, at (928) 817-4165. You can also email Ms. Castaneda at email@example.com
During your divorce proceedings, you’re bound to have several questions about the filing process. The State of Arizona has a few websites to help guide you through the process.
Obtaining a Divorce Record
After the divorce has finalized, you will need to divide personal items that you’ve acquired during your life together. However, some bigger items, like your house, may require a divorce record to show that you are no longer married. It is $26 for a divorce record and $7 for shipping and handling (unless you enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope). The court charges a separate $26 per year research fee if you do not know the date of the divorce you’re researching.