Nevada County, Arkansas Marriage Records
Marriage License Requirements
Arkansas law states that both of you must be present when applying for a marriage license, which is $58 (payable in cash). Proof of residency and a blood test are not needed, nor is a witness at the ceremony. However, in order to marry freely, you must be over 18 to get married without parental consent. If you are not over 18, you must be a male age 17 or female age 16-17 to be married with the blessing of a guardian. You also must show proof of age. This can be done with a birth certificate or military ID (for those of you under 21), or just a driver’s license (if you are over 21).
When the license is approved, you will have 60 days to marry or the license will expire. During this 60-day period, you must also return the license, used or unused, or a $100 bond will be brought against both of you. After the ceremony, you have seven days to return the signed license to the County Clerk.
County Clerk of Nevada County
Mail your marriage license back to: Nevada County Clerk, 215 E 2nd St S, Prescott, AR 71857. You can call (870) 887-2710 or fax (870) 887-5795 with your questions.
Marriage Coupons from the Arkansas Department of Health
If you want an actual marriage record, you need to contact the Nevada County Clerk; the Arkansas Department of Health issues marriage coupons, which are essentially the same as marriage records.
Marriage Coupons Limitations
Marriage record information is only available for the husband, the wife, their attorneys and the immediate family. It is never public.
Marriage Coupon Requirements
Enclose $10 with your request, this form:
Mail in your coupon request to: The Arkansas Department of Health, 4815 W. Markham Street, Slot 44, Little Rock, AR 72205. The Arkansas Department of Health can be reached at (501) 661-2336 or (800) 637-9314.